Fresh Inspiration: Atherton Market + CSA = Guanciale Cabbage Slaw

As if I wouldn’t receive enough produce this week with my CSA, I headed to Atherton Market this past Tuesday.  (In fact, I was in the parking lot 10 minutes before their 11:30am opening.)  I reasoned with myself that I could pick up some other things that my CSA wouldn’t be providing me this week.  So here was my small, but delicious haul:

Atherton Market haul

Atherton Market haul

I revisited Pickleville to get some dill pickles.  Bill attempted to get me to try the spicy pickles, but I am a spice wimp, so I watched someone else enjoy it.  He was out of my favorite pickled green tomatoes, but says he’ll have some this Saturday.

I also met some new vendors:

Berry Busy Farm

Berry Busy Farm

Berry Busy Farm berries

Berry Busy Farm berries

Beth & Dave Phillippe of Berry Busy Farm – the Phillippes originally hail from the Maryland/Delaware area, but fell in love with the Carolinas a while ago because their daughter lived here.  Their farm in Norwood, NC uses no pesticides, and they produce gorgeous black raspberries and blackberries, among other items like jam and berry plants.  (Look out for a Charlotte Fresh recipe write-up using these berries, maybe tomorrow.)  Beth & Dave are great to chat with, and they showed me the thorn pricks on their arms from having harvested the berries!  (Psst…ask them about their famous nephew.)

Dukes Bread

Dukes Bread

Dukes Bread - Rosemary Sea Salt

Dukes Bread - Rosemary Sea Salt

Adam Duke of Dukes Bread – Adam is head baker and pastry chef and turns out beautiful artisan breads like focaccia and gourmet bread rounds.  His bread ran out during Atherton’s opening day, so I wanted to be sure to try it.  I fell for the Rosemary Sea Salt bread, chock-full of rosemary hiding in the crumb, with a terrific sprinkling of sea salt on the outside for a little salty crunch.  When I brought the round home, hubby was jealous because he had already eaten lunch.

Barbee Farms

Barbee Farms

Barbee Farms – I spoke with Brent Barbee who is the farm manager and the sixth generation of his family to farm. Located in Concord, Barbee Farms practices sustainability, and their produce is absolutely gorgeous!  Barbee Farms is one of Atherton Market’s Tuesday-only vendors.  They have other markets like Davidson they’re already committed to on Saturday.  I picked up some beautiful orange carrots and the best new potatoes I have ever had!

A Finer Edge

A Finer Edge

A Finer Edge – There’s a cool new vendor parked outside the Atherton Market.  Gary of “A Finer Edge” sharpens knives.  So all of you who are dangerously cutting your fresh produce with dull knives, get out to Atherton to see Gary on Tuesdays or Saturdays.  It only takes a minute.  I was there when he sharpened a santoku for someone, and it really took no more than a minute to do and produced a great edge.

Ok, so after I picked up all this great stuff at Atherton Market, later in the afternoon, I had to pick up my CSA share.  Here’s this week’s haul:

CSA week 4

CSA week 4

I am officially drowning in produce.  Our share contained:

  • Collard greens
  • Turnips
  • Another beautiful savoy cabbage
  • Lettuce
  • A salad mix of mustard greens, bok choi or tat soi and other greens
  • Microgreens – radish, I believe
  • Baby onions!
  • Bright Lights Chard
  • Broccoli
  • Rosemary & oregano
  • Purple carrots!
  • Kale
  • Broccoli raab – I think
My beautiful savoy cabbage

My beautiful savoy cabbage

Having items from Atherton Market and the CSA in the house, it inspired me to design a cabbage dish for dinner.  I tend to have guanciale in my freezer, but you can use proscuitto, bacon or no meat at all.

Recipe:  Guanciale Cabbage Slaw with Rosemary Roasted Potatoes

Plated Guanciale Slaw with Roasted Potatoes

Plated Guanciale Slaw with Roasted Potatoes

Note:  You can eat this right after you make it, but it does taste even better the next day, after storing in the refrigerator overnight.

  • 6 new potatoes – try Barbee Farms
  • 3 Tbs olive oil
  • 1 Tbs. of fresh, chopped rosemary
  • salt, pepper, paprika to taste
  • 1 large savoy cabbage, washed, leaves cut into thin chiffonade strips
  • 1 medium purple carrot, grated – try Poplar Ridge Farm
  • 1 medium orange carrot, grated – try Barbee Farms
  • 5 pieces of guanciale (proscuitto or bacon is ok, too) – we like Grateful Growers Farm guanciale
  • 3 dill pickles, chopped – we like Pickleville
  • Pepper to taste
  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1/2 C local honey
  • 1/2 C rice wine vinegar
  • 1/2 C apple cider vinegar
Hubby's lightning carrot shredding

Hubby's lightning carrot shredding

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.  Wash and dry the potatoes.  Cut into quarters.  Line a baking pan with foil.  Toss the potatoes with the olive oil, salt, pepper, paprika and rosemary.  Bake at 425 degrees for 35-45 minutes, or until light-to-medium brown.

Meanwhile, fry the guanciale in a skillet, turning over once.  Fry until crispy, but not burnt. Remove from skillet and break/crumble into little pieces.

Place the cut cabbage into a large bowl.  Add the grated carrots.  Add the guanciale pieces.  Add the dill pickle pieces.

Mix the dressing:  Mix the sugar, honey, and both ciders in a small bowl until the sugar is dissolved.

Tossing the Guanciale Slaw

Tossing the Guanciale Slaw

Pour half the dressing over the top of the cabbage mix and toss and taste.  If necessary, add more dressing.  Otherwise, you can save the dressing for later.  (I used about 3/4 of the dressing, but we like it soaked in).  Add pepper to taste.

Plate up with the roasted potatoes on the side and enjoy!  Serves 2, with possible leftovers.

About charlottefresh

Helping Charlotte find fresh local food. Spread the word.
This entry was posted in CSA, Farmers Markets, Local, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fresh Inspiration: Atherton Market + CSA = Guanciale Cabbage Slaw

  1. LelaG says:

    What forms of payments will be accepted at the Public Markets?

    • Hi LelaG – To my knowledge, at most CLT area farmers’ markets, the producers accept cash. Small bills are preferred. Some who sell bigger ticket items (such as meat) may take credit cards. Davidson Farmers’ Market accepts debit, credit and SNAP (Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program), where tokens are exchanged for EBT benefits. Atherton Market has an ATM on site, and the Matthews Community Farmers’ Market has an ATM about a block away.

Leave a Reply

