Fresh Eats: Harvest Moon Grille Restaurant (at the Dunhill Hotel)

Harvest Moon Grille

Harvest Moon Grille

On Saturday for brunch, Charlotte Fresh had a craving for a “real HAMburger.”  So, I convinced hubby to take a drive to check out the new Harvest Moon Grille restaurant uptown at the Dunhill Hotel. (Just kidding, it actually took no convincing at all – the minute he heard where I wanted to go, he was already in.)

Harvest Moon Grille’s farm-to-table restaurant, which is Chef Cassie Parsons’s latest local food passion, takes over the spot that was Monticello’s, serving breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner.  As Natalie Veres mentions in the Grateful Growers Farm newsletter, the new restaurant is the “brick and mortar” version of their popular orange truck lovingly referred to as “The Moon.”  The fresh food inputs at the restaurant are regionally sourced, coming from small, independent farms within a 100-mile radius of Charlotte.  Any exceptions like NC coast seafood would be noted on the menu.

I love the whole concept.  Serve food that is fresh and local, and let the food’s natural flavors shine through.  Naturally, there is Grateful Growers Farm pork on the menu, and the decor features a picture of a familiar Natalie with her pigs.  Who better to showcase than the farmer herself?

Check out the farmer!  A work of art.

Check out the farmer! A work of art.

Well, I fulfilled my cravings and then some.  My “real HAMburger” made of ground pork with pepper jam and goat cheese spread was juicy and flavorful.  Hubby went with a fabulous “Banh Moon” sandwich of slow-braised pork belly with sriracha aioli.  (Of course, I stole a big bite.)  And then came the cheesecake.  Oh my.  A huge slice of housemade cheesecake with a caramel sauce.  I didn’t want to leave.  I was almost sad that they ran out of the sweet potato bread pudding with housemade marshmallows, but this cheesecake made me forget my loss. Next visit, I will have to try dinner and the bread pudding.

My "real HAMburger" - yum, so juicy!

My "real HAMburger" - yum, so juicy!

Hubby's "bahn moon" - loved that pork belly

Hubby's "banh moon" - loved that pork belly

OMG, cheesecake with caramel sauce!

OMG, cheesecake with caramel sauce!

I asked Kendra, our server, to call Cassie out for hugs and to say hello; and then being Charlotte Fresh, I wanted to run into the kitchen to meet Eugene, the Chef de Cuisine, and the rest of the team.  Check out my album on Facebook for some pics of them in action, prepping between the brunch and dinner crowds.

Oh, and if you haven’t made plans for Thanksgiving yet, this is the best part!  There will be a special Local Harvest Thanksgiving Day Celebration at Harvest Moon Grille.  It will be a family-style dinner featuring “local heritage turkey, heritage pork, chestnut-sausage stuffing, collard green salad, roasted root vegetables, cranberry relish and all the trimmings.”  Sit at one enormous long table, make new friends and become a part of the Harvest Moon Grille family for your holiday.  Seatings are at 1:00pm and 3:00pm, and private dining is available for parties of 10 or more.  Price is $39.99 per person and $12.99 for children under 9 years of age.

I know that Harvest Moon Grille at the Dunhill is going to become one of my favorite haunts. Won’t you give it a try for brunch or dinner this weekend?  Make sure to let me know how that bread pudding is.  I might not make it to next week without trying it.

Where to find it: 237 N. Tryon (at 6th St.), Charlotte. Next to the Dunhill Hotel. Call 704.342.1193 for reservations.  See the menus and more pics in my Facebook album.

Hours:

  • Monday – Friday: Breakfast – 6:30am to 10:30am, Lunch – 11:00am to 2:00pm, Dinner – 5:00pm to 10:00pm
  • Saturday and Sunday: Brunch 7:00am to 2:30pm, Dinner – 5:00pm to 10:00pm
About charlottefresh

Helping Charlotte find fresh local food. Spread the word.
This entry was posted in Dining, Farm-to-Table, Local, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fresh Eats: Harvest Moon Grille Restaurant (at the Dunhill Hotel)

  1. Chris says:

    That “HAMburger” looks delicious! And are those strips of zucchini I see on it too?

Leave a Reply

